Iheancho, Iwobi shortlisted for Golden Boy award

Share it:

– Nigeria’s kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi have been shortlisted for the 2016 Golden Boy award

– The duo have been making waves for their respective teams in the Premier League in the last two years

– Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling and Paul Pogba are past winners of the award 

Super Eagles’ Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi have been shortlisted for the 2016 Golden Boy award in European football.

Both players made the selection following their consistency and remarkable performances while plying their trade in the Premier League with Manchester City and Arsenal respectively.

Golden Boy award

Iheanacho and Iwobi are worthy competitors for the Golden Boy award

The award was founded by Italian newspaper Tuttosport in 2003 with notable names like Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling and Paul Pogba also claiming the award.

GET for FREE: Get the latest sports news on Naij Sport

Other players shortlisted for the award includes; Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford, Chelsea’s Ruben Loftus-Cheek Renato Sanches of Bayern Munich and the likes.

No Nigerian has won the award since its inception but the chances of Iheanacho and Iwobi in clinching the most outstanding young player are bright because the pair have featured in top flight football for their respective clubs.

Iwobi has started five out of six matches for the Gunners this season making three assists that helped Alexis Sanches and Theo Walcott get on the score sheet.

Iheanacho on the other hand, have bonded well with the Citizens and have scored two goals with two assists for the Pep Guardiola tutored side.

Here is a shortlist of the players selected for the Golden Boy award

Dele Alli (Tottenham), Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), Leon Bailey (Racing Genk), Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax), Gabriel Boschilia (Monaco), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Carlos Luna (Sevilla), Andreas Christensen (Borussia Monchengladbach), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb), Moussa Dembele (Celtic), Ousmane Dembele (Borussia Dortmund), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Breel Embolo (Schalke), Gabriel Barbosa (Inter Milan), Alexsandr Golovin (CSKA Moscow), Goncalo Guedes (Benfica), Demarai Gray (Leicester City), Marko Grujic (Liverpool), Alen Halilovic (Hamburg), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Victor Kovalenko (Shakhtar Donetsk), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Lucas Hernandez (Atletico Madrid), Emanuel Mammana (Lyon), Nathan (Vitesse), Olivier Ntcham (Genoa), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich), Jairo Riedewald (Ajax), Ruben Neves (Porto), Toni Sanabria (Real Betis), Leroy Sane (Manchester City), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht), Almamy Toure (Monaco)

The post Iheancho, Iwobi shortlisted for Golden Boy award appeared first on Nigeria News today & Breaking news | Read Naij.com 24/7.

Share it:

Latest Stories

Post A Comment:


We’re eager to see your comment. However, Please keep in mind that all comments are moderated according to our Comment Policy and all the links are nofollow. Using keywords in the name field area is forbidden.
Comment Using Either Disqus or Default Comment Mode.